American Bach Soloists
Bookmark and Share

2014 Bach's Hercules
ABS’s 25th Season Bach Celebration continues with the composer’s Missa Brevis in G Major; the Orchestral Suite No. 1 in C Major; and Laßt uns sorgen, laßt uns wachen, a cantata about Hercules that is comprised of an opening chorus, arias and duets that were later utilized in Parts II, III, & IV of the “Christmas Oratorio”. The Orchestral Suite (or “Ouverture”) in C Major is a tour-de-force for the ensemble’s oboes and bassoon, and the secular cantata 213, subtitled “Hercules at the Crossroads,” was composed to celebrate the 11th birthday of Frederick Christian, who went on to rule Saxony with extraordinary grace, diplomacy, and civility. The cantata praised the young prince’s wisdom and, by example, his musical gifts.

Saturday, February 22, 2014 at 8:00 PM
First Congregational Church of Berkeley
2345 Channing Way
Berkeley, CA 94704
Phone: (415) 621-7900
Map & Directions

Tickets are still available for this concert and can be purchased at the door beginning one hour prior to the performance. Online sales, however, are closed.

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Account

powered by
Copyright 2001 - 2015 Tix, Inc.
Box Office Software and Online Ticketing Solutions.
All rights reserved.
American Bach Soloists


© American Bach Soloists. All rights reserved.


Javascript Menu by
Purchase Tickets Online Support Get our announcements Top Level of Site